Classes I Teach

Recently, someone asked me a question on Instagram about my classes: “I’m the kind of person who really likes how some freeform crochet looks. But I’m also the kind of crafter who is married to patterns and anxious at the thought of going rogue. 🙈 Do you think your class would work for the likes of me? (Creative when told how to create. 😂)”

My answer was: “Thank you for asking this question! I suspect you speak for a lot of crocheters. My intention for the Freeform Favorite pattern (the design we’ll be using in the class) is to provide enough explicit directions to give crocheters a way to try freeform without needing to go rogue until they’re comfortable with the idea. So, I would say yes, this class will work for you! We’ll talk about establishing (and adjusting) boundaries on the world of possibilities open to freeform crocheters to make going rogue more approachable. Your assessment of being “creative when told how to create” is actually the perfect strategy for learning anything creative. First, you copy, aka you follow the directions. Then, when that’s comfortable, you start changing the directions a little. Before long, you’re being creative with your own ideas. That’s the philosophy behind my freeform patterns.”

Trying something as wide open as freeform crochet can seem overwhelming. Classes based on my Freeform•ish Guides are intended to be an easy entry into freeform, complete with hand holding and specific directions. By making changes to the pattern when you’re ready, you gradually ease into being completely improvisatory.

Freeform Favorite

Freeform Favorite online classes: no classes scheduled at this time

Crocheters, use your traditional crochet skills as you learn basic freeform techniques to make this small shawl.

$45 for the class, invoiced through PayPal, includes the pattern as the class handout. Crocheters who would like to try the design without taking the class can buy the guide on Ravelry.

To register for the class, email me at lisadohertyfreeformanddesign@gmail.com, and I will send a PayPal invoice.

There is no official homework for this class, but if you’d like to make a few small circles, you’ll have a head start.

Freeform Denim Tote

Freeform Denim Tote online classes: no classes scheduled at this time

Crocheters, use your traditional crochet skills as you learn basic freeform techniques you get started on making a one of a kind cover for a denim tote.

$45 for the class, invoiced through PayPal, includes the pattern as the class handout. Crocheters who would like to try the design without taking the class can buy the guide on Ravelry.

To register for the class, email me at lisadohertyfreeformanddesign@gmail.com, and I will send a PayPal invoice.

There is no official homework for this class, but if you’d like to make a few small circles, you’ll have a head start.

Organic Freeform Wrap

Organic Freeform Wrap classes: visit www.carolinafibrefest.org in January 2024 to register for this class, coming in March 2024.

This class was taught March 9 at the Carolina Fiber Fest. There are no classes scheduled at this time.